Complete List of Databases (A-Z)
Below are “databases” that our library subscribes to. They contain loads of information not necessarily found through the Internet. You’ll need your library card to log into most of these databases.
Ancestry Library Edition (In-Library use only) – provides genealogical and historical research capabilities. With more than 5 billion names in over 4,600 databases, includes census, military, court, land, and probate records; vital and church records; directories; and passenger lists.
Auto Repair Reference Center covers more than 35,000 vehicles from 1945 to present. Content includes nearly 857,000 drawings and step-by-step photographs, approximately 99,000 technical service bulletins & recalls issued by the original equipment vehicle manufacturer, over 158,600 enhanced wiring diagrams for easy viewing and printing, specifications & maintenance schedules, Labor Time Guide & Estimator, AutoIQ. Video Tutorial [4:30 minutes]
BC Laws – Free public access to the Statutes & Regulations of B.C.
British Columbia Codes (in Library Use Only) – Includes the current BC Building Code (including Plumbing Services) and the BC Fire Code.
British Columbia Statistics – Statistics on population, business, the economy, labour and society. From BCStats, the central statistical agency of the Province of British Columbia.
Access 2006 Census full (31 page) profiles or any item with a “key” icon beside it is available here. (Note: Remote access is permitted if your library can provide authentication.)
Business Source Premier [EBSCO] – Includes more than 2,000 business journals covering topics such as marketing, management, accounting and finance, as well as information about specific trades, industries and professions. Additional content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT (Strengths, Weaknesses, Opportunities, and Threats) analyses. Video Tutorial [4:40 minutes]
Business Plan Handbooks – A compilation of business plans developed by small businesses throughout North America. Access is made possible by the Small Business Accelerator at the Irving K. Barber Learning Centre at UBC with financial support from the Sutherland Foundation.
Canadian Encyclopedia – A comprehensive information source about Canada and Canadians, for students, the general public and scholars. Includes articles written by experts, as well as web links and multimedia clips. No library card is required to access these resources on the Internet.
Canadian Reference Centre [EBSCO] – Access “Canadian content” in domestic and international magazines, newspapers, newswires and reference books. Also includes biographies and a large image collection of photos, maps, and flags.
Clicklaw – An Internet subject guide to authoritative legal resources in BC and Canada. Developed by the Legal Services Society of BC and now maintained by the BC Courthouse Library Society. No library card is required to access this resource on the Internet.
Consumer Health Complete [EBSCO] – Health information for the general public, patients and health professionals. Includes mainstream medical information and holistic/alternative health information from popular and professional magazines, journals, reference books and reports. Also includes the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, with up-to-date information on medications, natural products and vaccines available in the U.S. Video Tutorial [5 minutes]
EBSCOhost periodicals – Search the content of more than 10,000 popular and academic magazines, reference books, plus images, covering all subject areas, from current events and history to the arts and sciences. Many Canadian titles are included. Narrow results by date, subject, publication, etc. Video Tutorial [2:25 minutes]
Edmark Learning Software (LearnNowBC) – LearnNowBC is a single point of entry to distributed learning in British Columbia through the use of Edmark Learning Software.
Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos – Spanish language student encyclopedia from World Book.
Explora Canada – Information for students of all ages on a wide variety of topics, from history and current events to science and technology. Search a variety of sources such as magazines, encyclopedias, primary source documents and more.
Explora Primary Schools – A research interface for K-5. Simple search that quickly delivers relevant results including articles, essays, and primary source documents to help students feel successful in their research. Easy-to-browse categories organized by popular topic to give students research ideas. Topic overviews that provide students with a starting point for research.
FreeGal – download music!
Global Road Warrior – The ultimate guide to the world for travelers.
GreenFile [EBSCO] – Provides information related to all aspects of human impact on the environment, from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and more. Identifies or provides full-text access to scholarly, government and general-interest periodicals and reports.
Khan Academy – “Learn almost anything for free.” 3300 videos explain many subjects.
KnowBC Online (In-Library use only) – Includes the following resources:
- Encyclopedia of British Columbia – With more than 4,000 entries and 1,500 accompanying photographs, maps, charts and tables, as well as sound and video clips.
- Marine Life of the Pacific Northwest – A Photographic Encyclopedia of Invertebrates, Seaweeds and Selected Fishes.
- The Encyclopedia of Raincoast Place Names – A Complete Reference to Coastal British Columbia
- Far West – The Story of British Columbia
- Raincoast Chronicles 20 – Lilies and Fireweed: Frontier Women of British Columbia.
- Where Mountains Meet the Sea – A History of Coastal BC
Imagine Canada (In Library Use Only) – The Canadian Directory to Foundations & Grants (Grant Connect) is an online database containing updated information on over 2,200 Canadian grant-making foundations.
L’Encyclopédie Découverte – French language encyclopedia from World Book for younger users who are fluent in French. Also useful for older students and adults for whom French is a second language. This resource is paid for by the Provincial Government.
NoveList [EBSCO] – Looking for a good novel? Want to find book reviews? Desperate to find other authors that are similar to your favourite? Check out NoveList, a database of fiction books and authors, recommended reading lists, book discussion ideas and book reviews for all ages. Video Tutorial [5 minutes]
NoveList K-8 [EBSCO] – Find lots of ideas for “what to read next” for the K-8 crowd. Kids, parents and teachers can identify “just the right book,” whether it is a novel about female astronauts set in outer space, the next book in a series, or what to read after Harry Potter.
Points to the Past – Searchable primary source material: maps, photos, newspapers, manuscripts, pamphlets, portraits, sermons, poems, and more. For research, teaching and learning.
Professional Development Collection [EBSCO] – A specialized resource for teachers and educators, providing access to over 500 education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains educational reports.
Pronunciator– Learn a new language!
Regional Business News [EBSCO] – A collection of regional U.S. business periodicals and newswires that includes some international business news. Contains the most recent 30 days of information from each wire source.
Teen Health & Wellness database – Real life – real answers.
Vehicle Safety and Inspection Standards Online (In Library Use Only) Current vehicle safety and inspection standards and related BC legislation.
World Book Advanced – Includes over a million primary source documents integrated with the encyclopedia’s content. Research and teaching tools include timelines, a citation builder and the ability to save searches.
World Book Kids – Younger children will enjoy searching for information by keyword or topic. A special feature includes fun hands-on learning activities for elementary school age children. Categories include: Make It! activities (e.g. making recycled paper), Think It! activities (e.g. puzzles) and Be It! activities (e.g. pretend to be a geologist). Video Tutorial [13:43 minutes]
World Book Online Reference Centre / Student – This is a great place for students or anyone to start their research on almost any topic. Includes full-text articles, web links, videos, animation, and sound. Video Tutorial [15:52 minutes]